Why it’s important to celebrate YOU

Trying to fathom what goes on inside the mind of Donald Trump is an exhausting and mind-boggling task. One that I would rather not find myself in but fall victim to every time he sends out a tweet.

In a dangerous and sickening blow to the LGBT community, last week Trump tweeted that he would not accept or allow transgender people to serve in the armed forces in any capacity despite previously expressing his support for the LGBT community.

For a man in his power to be sending out such a statement to millions of people only helps to enforce overt or underlying bigotry; a scary thought for those currently questioning their gender identity.

As it happens, the following week I was asked to write down what I’m grateful for, a sentiment created to celebrate “who we are” at my university.

20615306_1633229643394388_1563378643_o

(Don’t worry, Donald Trump being president was not it).

Three years ago I was scared to come out as gay. I never imagined I’d be brave enough to.

Yesterday I was asked what I’m grateful for.

I wrote, I’m grateful for being gay.

While I do not live in the U.S and don’t know what it is like to question my gender identity, I do know that we all deserve to be unashamedly ourselves.

While Donald Trump may be in a position of power, he doesn’t have the right to make you feel ashamed of who you are.

Celebrate you, because there’s no one else quite like ya. Plus, it will annoy Donald Trump and who doesn’t want to do that?

-E. x

Leave a Reply

